INDEPENDENT DAY

Samstag, 9. Juni, 10:00 - 14:00 Uhr

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Gießen

Moderation: Joël Bassaget

Dieser Tag ist der unabhängigen Serienproduktion gewidmet. Serienschöpfer innen, Festival-Direktor innen und Produzent innen werden über alle Aspekte des kurzformatigen Serienmachens sprechen: Finanzierung, Produktion, Vertrieb, vor allem aber Ästhetik, Stil und künstlerische Visionen stehen heute im Mittelpunkt.

10:00 - 11:00 Uhr | Fokus Kanada

FOCUS CANADA: Suzette Laqua presents Canadian short form digital series

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Referentin: Suzette Laqua

Das diesjährige Festival bietet einen besonderen Fokus auf die kanadische Landschaft kurzformatiger digitaler Serien. Suzette Laqua, Gründerin und Direktorin des Vancouver Web Fest, erzählt euch alle Details über die aktuelle kanadische Serienproduktion und stellt fünf Serien ihrer Wahl vor. Macher innen und Produzent innen offizieller Wettbewerbsserien, Gabriel Doré und Yvette Lu/Rob Lyons, ergänzen ihre ganz persönlichen Erfahrungen.

11:00 - 11:30 Uhr | Vortrag

Joël Bassaget & Anne Santa Maria: From concept to distribution: DOs and DON’Ts

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Referenten: Joël Bassaget, Anne Santa Maria

Zwei wahre Expert innen für das Schreiben, Produzieren und Distribuieren digitaler Inhalte werden fünf verschiedene Situationen simulieren, mit denen sich Filmemacherinnen und Produzenteninnen im Verlauf der Kreation einer Serie konfrontiert sehen. Sie werden dem Publikum brauchbare Tipps, Tricks und Ratschläge geben, wie mit den Herausforderungen umzugehen ist.

11:30 - 11:45 Uhr | Kurze Pause

11:45 - 12:45 Uhr | Präsentation

A-Z of digital series production

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Die Regisseurinnen der beiden meistnominierten Serien des Wettbewerbs geben einen persönlichen Einblick, wie sie gedacht, geschrieben, geplant, Regie geführt und produziert haben, um ihre eigene Serien-Vision zum Leben zu erwecken.

11:45 Uhr | Präsentation

Kate Madison: Project presentation of “Ren: The Girl with the Mark”

Die Serie “Ren” ist eine aufwendig produzierte Fantasy-Drama mit hohem technischen Anspruch. Kate Madison führt euch durch den gesamten Produktionsprozess: die Einzelheiten des Crowdfundings eines Projekts, wie man die benötigte Finanzierung herausfindet, wie man innerhalb des Budgets produziert - und welche Probleme und Lösungen ihr am Set begegnet sind.

12:15 Uhr | Präsentation

Gisela Benenzon: Project presentation of “I’m Ander”

Die argentinische Regisseurin Gisela Benenzon wurde weltweit für ihre Serie “Soy Ander” von Festivals nominiert. In einem ‘A bis Z’ ihres eigenen Produktionsprozesses zeigt sie die verschiedenen Etappen und notwendigen Schritte auf und lässt ihre Gedanken und Erfahrungen zum unabhängigen Filmemachen einfließen.

12:45 - 13:00 Uhr | Kurze Pause

13:00 - 13:30 Uhr | Gespräch

Directors’ Panel I: Web Series World Cup Winner 2017

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Luke Eve, Regisseur der WSWC-Gewinnerserie “High Life”, im Gespräch mit Joël Bassaget und Csongor Dobrotka. Hört euch seine Gedanken zum Drehbuchschreiben, zur visuellen Sprache, zum Regieführen und zu künstlerischen Entscheidungen an!

13:30 - 14:00 Uhr | Diskussionsrunde

Directors’ Panel II

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Gäste: Amandine Hervé-Pouchet (FR), Harry Sherriff (GB), Quentin Uriel (FR),Fabian Wallenfels (DE), Levin Hübner (DE)

Fünf Regisseure ausgewählter und nominierter kurzformatiger Serien werden über ihr persönliches Verständnis von Ästhetik, Stil, Genre und verschiedene Formate sprechen. Was halten sie für grundlegend wichtig für eine gute Serie? Was ist visuelles Geschichtenerzählen für sie? Wie haben sie ihren persönlichen Stil und ihre künstlerischen Inspirationen gefunden?

Organisatoren

Öffentliche Förderer & Partner

Öffentliche Förderung Business Day

Öffentliche Förderung Educational Day

Sponsoren

Unterstützer

Medienpartner

Festivalpartner

INDEPENDENT DAY

Saturday, June 9, 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Moderation: Joël Bassaget

This day is dedicated to independent series production. Creators, festival directors, and producers will talk about all aspects of short form digital series making: the focus is on funding, production, distribution, and, most importantly, aesthetics, style, and artistic visions.

10:00 - 11:00 am | Presentation

FOCUS CANADA: Suzette Laqua presents Canadian short form digital series

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Speaker: Suzette Laqua

This year’s festival comes with a Special Focus on the Canadian landscape of short form digital content. Suzette Laqua, founder and executive director of Vancouver Web Fest, tells you all the details about current Canadian series production and presents five series of her choice. Creators and producers of two Official Selection series, Gabriel Doré and Yvette Lu/Rob Lyons, will complement her with their personal experience.

11:00 - 11:30 am | Lecture

Joël Bassaget & Anne Santa Maria: From concept to distribution: DOs and DON’Ts

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Speakers: Joël Bassaget, Anne Santa Maria

Two real experts on writing, producing, and distributing digital content will simulate five different common situations that creators and producers face in the process of creation. They will give the audience viable tips, tricks, and advices on how to manage them.

11:30 - 11:45 am | Short Break

11:45 - 12:45 am | Presentation

A-Z of digital series production

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

The directors of the two most nominated series in the competition will give you their personal insight on how to think, write, plan, direct, and produce to bring your series vision to life.

11:45 am | Presentation

Kate Madison: Project presentation of “Ren: The Girl with the Mark”

The series “Ren” is a complexly produced fantasy drama with high technical standards. Kate Madison walks you through the whole production process: the specifics of crowdfunding a project, how to figure out the amount of money you need, how to be able to produce on your budget - and also what problems and solutions she came up with on the set.

12:15 am | Presentation

Gisela Benenzon: Project presentation of “I’m Ander”

Argentinian director Gisela Benenzon has been nominated by festivals worldwide for her series “Soy Ander”. In an ‘A to Z’ on her production process she points out all the different stages and necessary steps and lets the audience in on her thoughts and experiences regarding independent filmmaking.

12:45 - 1:00 pm | Short Break

1:00 - 1:30 pm | Talk

Directors’ Panel I: Web Series World Cup Winner 2017

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Luke Eve, director of the WSWC-winning series “High Life”, in conversation with Joël Bassaget and Csongor Dobrotka. Listen in on how his thoughts on scriptwriting, visual language, directing, and artistic decisions!

1:30 - 2:00 pm | Panel

Directors’ Panel II

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Guests: Amandine Hervé-Pouchet (FR), Harry Sherriff (GB), Quentin Uriel (FR), Fabian Wallenfels (GE), Levin Hübner (GE)

Five directors of selected and nominated short form digital series will talk about their personal view on aesthetics, style, genre, and different formats. What do they consider as essential for a good series? What is visual storytelling to them? How did they find their personal style and artistic inspirations?

Event Organizers

Official Sponsors & Partners

Official Sponsors Business Day

Official Sponsors Educational Day

Sponsors

Supporter

Media Partners

Festival Partners