EDUCATIONAL DAY

Freitag, 8. Juni, 10:00 - 16:00 Uhr

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Gießen

Moderation: Astrid Matron

Der Educational Day bietet Vorträge und Diskussionen, die Film- und Medienwissenschaftler innen mit Serienmacher innen zusammenbringen wollen. Wie hat sich die Webserienwelt in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten entwickelt? Wo stehen wir jetzt und was ändert sich gerade? Was sind die neuartigen Ideen und Formate? Und wie betrachten wir Webserien aus einer film- und medientheoretischen Perspektive?

10:15 - 10:45 Uhr | Präsentation

2nd generation web series: How did we get here?

Referentin: Astrid Matron

Eine kurze Geschichte dessen, was wir heute kurzformatige digitale Serien nennen. Wann haben sie begonnen, wie haben sie sich entwickelt, wo und wann finden sie statt? Und wann wurde die zweite Generation geboren?

11:00 - 11:30 Uhr | Präsentation

Web series, where are they now?

Referent: Joël Bassaget

Seit fünf Jahren beobachtet und verfolgt Joël die "Web-Serien-Bewegung" - und er hat wahrgenommen, wie sich die digitale Landschaft radikal verändert. Die Geschäftsmodelle und Möglichkeiten für unabhängige Serien-Schöpfer*innen haben sich weiterentwickelt und sind vielversprechender als je zuvor, doch finden sie in einem wettbewerbsintensiveren Umfeld statt. Wie ist der Stand der Dinge?

11:45 - 12:15 Uhr | Präsentation

What do they tell us? A short analytical guide to recent digital series

Referent: Csongor Dobrotka

Was sagt uns die Filmanalyse über das relativ neue Medium der Webserie? Wie reflektiert sich das Format selbst und wie lässt es sich in die Filmgeschichte einordnen? Csongor Dobrotka zeigt uns anhand aktueller kurzformatiger Serien, was wir vom Medium selbst lernen können.

12:30 - 13:00 Uhr | Präsentation

A film school for short form digital series

Referenten: Riccardo Cannella, Cristiano Bolla

Cinnamon Production, gegründet von Riccardo, hat die allererste Filmschule eröffnet, die sich auf kurzformatige digitale Inhalte spezialisiert. Was lehren sie und was haben sie selbst dabei gelernt? Wie können sie junge Filmemacher*innen auf die Kreation innovativer, verlockender und erfolgreicher Webserien vorbereiten?

13:00 - 14:00 | Mittagspause

14:00 - 14:30 Uhr | Gespräch

“Innovation, hybrid formats, and new modes of co-production” - A conversation with Dorothee Wenner (creator of Kinshasa Collection)

Gast: Dorothee Wenner

“Kinshasa Collection” basiert auf einem hybriden Konzept, das formal, narrativ und ästhetisch neue Wege geht. Das transmediale Projekt lässt digitale und analoge Welten ineinander übergehen und spielt mit gegenseitigen Beeinflussungen. Mit Dorothee Wenner sprechen wir darüber, wie die ungewöhnliche Produktionsweise den Inhalt bestimmte - und andersherum.

14:45 - 15:45 Uhr | Diskussionsrunde

Out of the ordinary - what’s new in the digital series world?

Gäste: María Albiñana, Rose of Dolls, Pedro Levati, Suzette Laqua, Christian Stadach, Patxi Urkijo

Als krönender Abschluss eines Tages voller historischer, aktueller und zukünftiger Perspektiven auf kurzformatige Serien, genauer Einblicke und detaillierter Analysen werden unsere Expert innen für Webserien rund um den Globus über neue Strömungen, herausragende Projekte und Konzepte, die aus dem Rahmen fallen, sprechen - lasst euch inspirieren!

Organisatoren

Öffentliche Förderer & Partner

Öffentliche Förderung Business Day

Öffentliche Förderung Educational Day

Sponsoren

Unterstützer

Medienpartner

Festivalpartner

EDUCATIONAL DAY

Friday, June 8, 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Hotel & Restaurant heyligenstaedt, Aulweg 41, 35392 Giessen

Moderation: Astrid Matron

The Educational Day offers lectures and discussions that intend to bring together film and media scholars with creators. How did the web series world develop in the past two decades? Where are we standing now and what is changing? What are the up-and-coming ideas and formats? And how do we look at web series from a film- and media-theoretical perspective?

10:15 am - 10:45 am | Lecture

2nd generation web series: How did we get here?

Speaker: Astrid Matron

A short history of what we now call short form digital series. When did they begin, how did they develop, where and when are they happening? And when has the second generation born been born?

11:00 am - 11:30 am | Lecture

Web series, where are they now?

Speaker: Joël Bassaget

It is now 5 years that Joël is observing and following the “web series movement” - and he has seen the digital landscape radically change. The business models and the opportunities for independent creators have evolved and are more promising than ever, but take place in a more competitive environment. Where are we standing now?

11:45 am - 12:15 pm | Lecture

What do they tell us? A short analytical guide to recent digital series

Speaker: Csongor Dobrotka

What does film analysis tell us about the relatively new medium web series? How does the format reflect itself and how can we connect it to the continuing history of film? On the basis of current short format series, Csongor Dobrotka shows us what we can learn from the medium itself.

12:30 pm - 1:00 pm | Lecture

A film school for short form digital series

Speakers: Riccardo Cannella, Cristiano Bolla

Cinnamon Production, founded by Riccardo, has created the very first film school specialized on short form digital content. What do they teach and what did they learn in the process? How can you prepare young filmmakers for creating innovative, tantalizing, and successful web series?

1:00 - 2:00 | Lunch Break

2:00 pm - 2:30 pm | Talk

“Innovation, hybrid formats, and new modes of co-production” - A conversation with Dorothee Wenner (creator of Kinshasa Collection)

Guest: Dorothee Wenner

“Kinshasa Collection” is based on a hybrid concept that breaks new ground formally, narratively and aesthetically. The transmedial project merges digital and analogue worlds and plays with the mutual influences. With creator Dorothee Wenner we talk about how the unusual mode of production determined the content - and vice versa.

2:45 pm - 3:45 pm | Panel Discussion

Out of the ordinary - what’s new in the digital series world?

Guests: María Albiñana, Rose of Dolls, Pedro Levati, Suzette Laqua, Christian Stadach, Patxi Urkijo

As a grand finale to a day full of historical, present, and future perspectives on short form digital content, close looks and detailed analysis, our experts on web series all over the globe will talk about new currents, outstanding projects, and concepts out of the ordinary - get inspired!

Event Organizers

Official Sponsors & Partners

Official Sponsors Business Day

Official Sponsors Educational Day

Sponsors

Supporter

Media Partners

Festival Partners